One Week To Go

It’s been quite a long two weeks, and alas, we have come upon our final week in Hong Kong. For me, it’s been two weeks in one heck of a roller coaster ride. I felt an incredible range of emotions regarding pretty much everything here. From the elated to the depressing; if you could imagine a tank full of “emotion-juice” inside the human body, mine is probably just about empty. I’ve felt the immense joy of being able to see another of God’s amazing creations; Sammi, one of my teammates, said that she has never seen me this happy before. I am literally, a kid in a big concrete candy store.

But I’ve also felt the strains of teaching, and preparing lessons. That is where a lot of my sorrow comes in. My students are wonderful kids, but their English is not… the best. I feel torn in two, between the English teacher who needs to improve his kids’ ability and the guy who wants to show them that God loves them, but can’t; because of the language barrier. It’s hard to spend countless hours lesson planning and changing the curriculum to meet the needs of the particular English level for kids who may not respond that well to having to sit through “English Camp” in the middle of their short summer vacation. But it’s even harder for me to know that as much as I try, it is highly unlikely for me to see evidence of any kind of spiritual movement within my kids.

Think of it this way: as much as I try to be as bright of a light as I can be, there is a level 8 typhoon and visibility is at most, zero. My kids are in the distance, and I can’t tell whether they can see me or not. It is something that I have been wrestling with this entire time. I hope I can be an impact to their lives, but in the world of my class and the kids in it, I’m beginning to realize that I may not see that impact come to fruition. I think this may be another lesson in trusting God. I have to trust that I am still a part in His plan for the 16 kids in my class, and that sometime in the future, they may come to know Him.

I think a bit of prayer for myself and for Sammi (who also has a group of extremely “low” students) would go a long way.

Just for reference, Karl has the group of mid-level students, Kevin has the highest level students, and Jacqueline’s class is in between them. It’s good to hear that the others on the team are able to communicate the Gospel and the ideas of Jesus and God to their students. And it was fun to be able to spend time with a group of them yesterday (Saturday local time) at the beach and for dinner. Please continue to pray for our team as a whole, and for the three in particular who have the ability to share their God, and have their students understand them.

Also, pray for this last week, and for the student rally on Saturday in particular. The rally is my light at the end of the tunnel. It is an event we can invite our students to, where there will be translators who can help us share the Good News with our students. There will be a time of worship, and a pastor from a local Cantonese church will speak. Please pray over that event, as not only our students from Ning Po College will be there, but so will the other students from the other ELIC Hong Kong teams as well. Pray that as we invite those in our classes to come to this rally, they will feel the urge to. Pray that they may come to see that light in the middle of the typhoon; that they will see God.

There is one week to go. Five more days of teaching. Six more days with out students. And for me, seven more days to see this wonderful city God has created. I have found that during this trip, just going out and seeing the city, walking through it with its people, and just being in that kind of environment really energizes me. It’s odd, because after a long day teaching and hanging out with students, I would expect myself to be tired and want to just crash. But every single day, I feel the need to run around and see the city and see what it’s people are like. And I have definitely seen what it’s people are like…

A few days ago, we went to the Temple Street Night Market and amongst the usual goods of t-shirts and watches are some not so nice things. At Temple Street, Mongkok, and just about any market, it’s not uncommon to see at least one vendor selling wares of a sexual nature. And at Temple Street, it was two whole blocks of it. It’s just weird to see that on the side of the road, people sell things like that. Becky, our team leader was shocked to the point of almost breaking out in tears. I myself am a bit shocked. But I think God wants us to see that even though Hong Kong is a place where we can freely worship Him, and that even though Hong Kong is a place with an abundance in churches and spiritual growth; Hong Kong is still a place where seven million people are crying out for God. A place where seven million people attempt to fill that hole in their hearts with worldly things. It just makes me thankful that not only do I have God in my life, but that He has brought me here to show me that there are still millions… no, billions of people out there who doesn’t. It makes me thankful that I can have a part in helping people fill that hole in their heart, even if I won’t see the direct results myself.

It’s about 12:15 AM local time, and I should be crawling into bed. Please continue to pray for our team, the students at Ning Po College, and the people of Hong Kong as a whole!

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

